Aug 26, 2011  |  Today's News |  ICMB

For Immediate Release                        Contact: Tricia Braid


BLOOMINGTON – Bill Christ, a grain producer from Metamora, Illinois has been elected Chairman of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board (ICMB) for 2011-2012.  The Woodford County corn producer has served on the board since August of 2005.  Christ currently represents corn producers in District 7 which is comprised of Woodford, McLean, DeWitt, Macon, Piatt and Moultrie counties.  Christ replaces Scott Stirling of Martinton.

Other officers elected to ICMB leadership were: Vice Chairman – Kent Kleinschmidt of Emden; Treasurer – Larry Hasheider of Okawville and Secretary – Lou Lamoreux of Lanark.  

Three new directors were elected to the board:  Glenn Ginder of Peotone (District 1), Bill Long of Franklin (District 10) and Don Duvall of Casey (District 13).  Ginder represents corn producers in Boone, McHenry, Lake Dekalb, Kane, Cook, DuPage, Kendall and Will counties, Long represents producers in Morgan, Sangamon, Scott, Greene, Calhoun, Macoupin and Jersey counties and Duvall represents producers in Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash and White counties.

One incumbent was elected to a new term on the board:  Jim Rapp, representing corn producers in District 4 (Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Stark, Marshall, and Putnam counties). 

The Illinois Corn Marketing Board is a group of 15 farmers elected from across the state.  This volunteer producer board has the mission to create opportunities for increasing Illinois corn value and utilization. In order to fulfill their mission the organization administers the state checkoff program, identifies and invests in market development, research, and commercialization activities; evaluates the impact each investment generates; cooperates with major commodity organizations on state, national and international market development efforts; and disseminates timely information.  The ICMB serves the interests of and is accountable to all Illinois corn producers.