Jul 31, 2012  |  Today's News

The Illinois Department of Agriculture today announced winners of the July 10 state commodity board elections. These elections filled positions on the Illinois Corn Marketing Board. The farmers that are elected by their peers then manage Illinois’ corn checkoff dollars.

“It’s an honor to be chosen by your fellow producers to represent their interests when these boards decide how best to spend industry checkoff dollars,” Bob Flider, Acting Director of the Illinois Department of Agriculture, said.  “I wish those elected the best of luck as they begin their terms.”

Corn checkoff dollars come from assessments levied at the first point of sale. State law sets the assessment for corn at 5/8 of 1 cent per bushel, a new rate that begins effective Oct. 1. Until that time, the corn checkoff rate is 3/8 of  1 cent per bushel. 

The newly-elected board members will serve three-year terms. 



District             Counties in District                                                            Candidate and Hometown

District 2        Carroll, JoDaviess, Ogle, Stephenson, Winnebago              Lou Lamoreux, Lanark


District 5        Grundy, Kankakee, LaSalle, Livingston                                Paul Jeschke, Mazon

District 8       Cass, Fulton, Logan, Mason, Menard, Peoria, Tazewell        Kent Kleinschmidt, Emden

District 11     Christian, Effingham, Fayette, Montgomery, Shelby              To be appointed

District 14      Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe                                           Larry Hasheider, Okawville