Aug 23, 2012  |  ICMB

For Immediate Release                                  Contact: Tricia Braid



BLOOMINGTON, Ill – Kent Kleinschmidt, a grain and livestock farmer from Emden, Illinois, has been elected Chairman of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board (ICMB) for 2012-2013.  The Logan county corn producer has served on the board for six years.  Kleinschmidt currently represents corn farmers in District 8 which is comprised of Fulton, Peoria, Tazewell, Mason, Cass, Menard and Logan counties.  Kleinschmidt replaces Bill Christ of Metamora.

Other officers elected to ICMB leadership were: Vice Chairman – Larry Hasheider of Okawville; Treasurer – Lou Lamoreux of Lanark, and Secretary –Jim Raben of Ridgeway.  

One new director was elected to the board:  Paul Jeschke of Mazon (District 5).  He will represent corn producers in LaSalle, Grundy and Livingston counties. The Board appointed Don Murphy, of Harvel, to the unexpired term in District 11.

Two incumbents elected to a new term on the board were:  Lou Lamoreux, representing corn producers in District 2 (Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Carroll, Ogle, Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Stark, Putnam and Marshall counties), Larry Hasheider, representing District 14 (Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Wabash, Edwards, Wayne and Jefferson counties).    

The Illinois Corn Marketing Board is a group of 15 farmers elected from across the state.  This volunteer producer board has the mission to create opportunities for increasing Illinois corn value and utilization. In order to fulfill their mission the organization administers the state checkoff program, identifies and invests in market development, research, and commercialization activities; evaluates the impact each investment generates; cooperates with major commodity organizations on state, national and international market development efforts; and disseminates timely information.  The ICMB serves the interests of and is accountable to all Illinois corn producers.