Tricia Braid

Dec 07, 2012  |  Today's News

Illinois Corn Growers Association is pleased to hear that newly-elected to the 13 th district Congressman Rodney Davis has been named to the U.S. House of Representatives Agriculture Committee. Throughout his campaign, Davis worked with ICGA members to become better acquainted with the issues impacting corn farmers in Illinois. Maintaining a seat on the Ag Committee is important, especially since the new Congress will need to address farm bill issues if the lame duck session does not successfully pass a new 5-year bill.

House Agriculture Committee Chairman Frank Lucas announced the new Republican Members who are expected to serve on the Committee in the 113th Congress. The list has been recommended by the Republican Steering Committee and is expected to be officially adopted in January by the Republican Conference and the House.

"I am pleased to welcome our new Republican Members to the House Agriculture Committee. I look forward to working with all of them in the next Congress as we continue to ensure the health and vitality of production agriculture and rural economies," said Chairman Frank Lucas.

New Members joining the Committee: (in alphabetical order)

· Dan Benishek (MI-1)

· Chris Collins (NY-27)

· Rodney Davis (IL-13)

· Jeff Denham (CA-19)

· Richard Hudson (NC-8)

· Doug LaMalfa (CA-1)

· Ted Yoho (FL-3)

· Vacancy