Tricia Braid

Jun 19, 2013  |  Today's News

The Illinois Department of Agriculture has announced the candidates for the Illinois Corn Marketing Board in those districts that are due for elections. The ICMB administers the Illinois corn checkoff program.

Farmers will vote July 2 to select members of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board.

“Commodity boards decide which industry promotions and research projects get funded with state checkoff dollars,” Agriculture Director Bob Flider said.  “I encourage producers who’d like a voice in these important decisions to go to the polls and cast a ballot.”

Checkoff dollars come from assessments levied at the first point of sale. State law sets the assessment for corn at 5/8 of 1 cent per bushel.

Anyone who produces and markets corn is eligible to vote.  Ballots may be cast at county Cooperative Extension Offices during regular operating hours.

Producers who cannot make it to the polls election day are eligible to vote absentee.  Absentee ballots can be obtained from the Illinois Department of Agriculture and must be returned to the department no later than June 27.

Write-in candidates are permitted for all three boards.  However, those running as write-ins for the corn board must file a “Declaration of Intent” with the Director of Agriculture by 5 p.m., June 25, to be eligible for election.  The form is available by contacting the department.

Election results will be announced by Aug. 1. Winners will receive three-year terms.  A list of the districts holding elections this year, the counties they include and the names and hometowns of the candidates follows: