Tricia Braid

Aug 21, 2013  |  Today's News

Larry Hasheider, a grain and livestock farmer from Okawville, Illinois, was elected by his peers to serve as Chairman of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board for the 2013-14 term.

Hasheider, a Washington County farmer, has served on the Board for seven years. As Chairman, Hasheider represents the organization as a whole and continues his obligations to corn farmers in District 14 which covers Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe, St. Clair, and Washington Counties.

Hasheider took the helm as Kent Kleinschmidt finished his term.

Also elected to officer positions were Lou Lamoreux (Lanark) as Vice-Chairman, Jim Raben (Ridgway) as Treasurer, and Tom Mueller (Taylor Ridge) as Secretary.

New Directors were seated to the Board at this meeting after the statewide elections held in July. Dirk Rice (Philo) will represent District 6 covering Champaign, Ford, Iroquois, and Vermilion Counties. Dan Cole (Plainville) will represent District 9 covering Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike and Schuyler Counties. Roger Sy (Newman) will represent District 12 covering Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, and Jasper Counties.

Incumbents Tom Mueller and Jim Raben were re-elected to their seats. Mueller, in District 3, represents Henderson, Henry, Knox, Mercer, Rock Island, and Warren Counties. District 15, represented by Raben, covers Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, and Williamson Counties.

The Illinois Corn Marketing Board was established in 1982 to manage the voluntary checkoff investment that corn farmers in the state agreed to implement that year. The farmers that make up ICMB are elected by their peers to serve unpaid, three year terms. The ICMB farmer leaders are tasked with developing and maintaining markets for corn which is Illinois' highest valued agricultural commodity. Find out more about ICMB at and the family farmers who contribute to the checkoff at