Tricia Braid

Aug 19, 2014  |  Today's News |  ICMB

Lou Lamoreux, a grain and livestock farmer from Lanark, Illinois, was elected by his peers to serve as Chairman of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board for the 2014-15 term.

Lamoreux, a Carroll County farmer, has served on the Board for five years. As Chairman, Lamoreux represents the organization as a whole and continues his obligations to corn farmers in District 12 which covers Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Ogle, and Carroll Counties.

Lamoreux took the helm as Larry Hasheider finished his term.

Also elected to officer positions were Jim Raben (Ridgway) as Vice-Chairman, Paul Jeschke (Mazon) as Secretary, and Tom Mueller (Taylor Ridge) as Treasurer.

New directors and incumbents elected earlier in the summer took their seats at the board meeting, as well, They include newly elected board members Pat Dumoulin (representing Boone, McHenry, Lake, DeKalb, Kane, Cook, DuPage, Kendall, and Will Counties in District 1), Mark Wilson (representing Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Stark, Marshal and Putnam Counties in District 4), and Jim Reed (representing Woodford, McLean, Dewitt, Macon, Piatt, and Moultrie Counties in District 7). Incumbents Bill Long of District 10 and Donald Duvall of District 13 will maintain their seats. Long’s district includes Scott, Morgan, Sangamon, Greene, Jersey, Calhoun, and Macoupin Counties. District 13 will have Duvall representing Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash, and White Counties.

The Illinois Corn Marketing Board was established in 1982 to manage the voluntary checkoff investment that corn farmers in the state agreed to implement that year. The farmers that make up ICMB are elected by their peers to serve unpaid, three year terms. The ICMB farmer leaders are tasked with developing and maintaining markets for corn which is Illinois' highest valued agricultural commodity. Find out more about ICMB at and the family farmers who contribute to the checkoff at