Tricia Braid

Aug 04, 2014  |  Today's News |  ICMB

The Illinois Corn Marketing Board will seat two returning and three new members at an upcoming meeting. The Illinois Department of Agriculture recently announced the results of the farmer elections. IDOA Director Flider congratulated the farmers on their election and observed that it’s an honor to be chosen by one’s peers.

The farmers elected to ICMB invest corn checkoff dollars as they are assessed and levied at the first point of sale. State law sets the assessment for corn at 5/8 of 1 cent per bushel. 

The newly-elected board members will serve three-year terms. New to ICMB are Pat Dumoulin from Hampshire; Mark Wilson from Toulon; and James A. Reed from Monticello.

Dumoulin will represent District 1 which covers Boone, McHenry, Lake, DeKalb, Kane, Cook, DuPage, Kendall, and Will Counties. District 4 will now be represented by Wilson. It covers Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Stark, Marshal and Putnam Counties. Reed will represent District 7 which encompasses Woodford, McLean, Dewitt, Macon, Piatt, and Moultrie Counties.

Incumbents Bill Long of District 10 and Donald Duvall of District 13 will maintain their seats. Long’s district includes Scott, Morgan, Sangamon, Greene, Jersey, Calhoun, and Macoupin Counties. District 13 will have Duvall representing Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash, and White Counties.

The Illinois Corn Marketing Board was established in 1982 to manage the voluntary checkoff investment that corn farmers in the state agreed to implement that year. The farmers that make up ICMB are elected by their peers to serve unpaid, three year terms. The ICMB farmer leaders are tasked with developing and maintaining markets for corn which is Illinois' highest valued agricultural commodity. Find out more about ICMB at and the family farmers who contribute to the checkoff at