Hannah Ferguson

Mar 30, 2015  |  Today's News |  ICMB

Bloomington, Ill.—Farmers who would like to run for a three-year term on the Illinois Corn Marketing Board can now start circulating nominating petitions.

Petitions are available at county Extension offices and the Illinois Department of Agriculture. In order to have their name placed on the ballot, candidates must submit a completed petition to the Director of Agriculture by the filing deadline of May 15, 2015. Petitions should contain the signatures of 200 (or 5 percent, whichever is less) producers residing in the counties in the district in which the board member is to be elected.

Interested corn farmers must be at least 18 years old, have produced and marketed corn, reside in the district to be represented and have submitted a valid petition by the filing deadline to be eligible for election.

Elections will be held July 7, 2015.

For the Illinois Corn Marketing Board, the following districts and their representative counties are open for election:

District 2         Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Carroll and Ogle;

District 5         LaSalle, Grundy, Livingston, and Kankakee;

District 8         Peoria, Tazewell, Fulton, Mason, Cass, Menard and Logan;

District 11       Christian, Montgomery, Shelby, Fayette and Effingham;

District 14       Madison, Bond, St. Clair, Clinton, Monroe and Washington.

Those elected will serve a three-year term beginning August 1, 2015.

For more information or to request a petition, call the Illinois Department of Agriculture at (217) 524-9130 or write: Illinois Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Marketing and Promotion, PO Box 19281, State Fairgrounds, Springfield, IL 62792-9281. You may also visit the Department’s website at