Hannah Ferguson

Jun 01, 2015  |  Today's News

Are you interested in serving on a volunteer board to learn more about the Illinois agricultural industry, develop media relations and PR skills, meet other Illinois leaders and network with elected officials and staff and create solutions to the issues facing corn production within our state? Then you might be a candidate for one of the director positions on the Board of Directors of the Illinois Corn Growers Association.

Each year five directors are elected to a three-year term in districts throughout Illinois and two at-large directors are elected for a one-year term to represent farmers all over the state. Members in each district elect their own representation by a mail-in ballot and the at-large directors are elected at the annual meeting, which is usually in November. The board does not pay a per diem, but offers a unique experience to make a difference in your own operation, that of friends and neighbors, and to help build a strong industry for future generations. Travel, lodging and meeting expenses are reimbursed.

To seek election, our bylaws require you to do one of the following: 1) announce your intentions at either our June 3-4 or August 25-26 board meeting or, 2) file a petition with 25 signatures of current members in your district (membership list available upon request). Petitions are available from the state office and are due back to the state office no later than September 1.

Districts up for election this year and the counties included in each district are as follows:

Dist 3: Henderson, Henry, Knox, Mercer, Rock Island and Warren Counties; Currently represented by Randy DeSutter (elected 11/2012)

Dist 6: Champaign, Ford Iroquois and Vermilion Counties; Currently represented by Jeff Jarboe (elected 5/2009)

Dist 9: Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike and Schuyler Counties; Currently represented by Andy Bartlow (elected 8/2013)

Dist 12: Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar and Jasper Counties; Currently represented by Glenna Taylor (elected 11/2012)

Dist 15: Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope-Hardin, Pulaski, Alexander, Randolph, Saline, Union and Williamson Counties; Currently represented by Joe Murphy (elected 11/2014)

Current at-large directors which represent the entire state-Gary Hudson, Hindsboro, and Grant Noland, Decatur.  

If you would like a petition or need further information, call the office at 309-557-3257.