Tricia Braid

Jan 17, 2017  |  Today's News

Illinois boasts three veteran House Ag Committee members that are retaining their seats for the 115th Congress. Congressman Rodney Davis, Congresswoman Cheri Bustos and Congressman Mike Bost return to the ag committee and are well situated to represent Illinois agriculture in the current Congressional session. Cong. Davis also retains his seat as the chair of the Subcommittee on Biotechnology, Horticulture, and Research.

Davis will also serve as a member of the Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure, and Committee on House Administration.

In an official statement released by his office, Congressman Davis said, “I first requested to serve on these committees four years ago because agriculture and transportation issues are much of what drives our economy in Central and Southwest Illinois,” said Davis. “I asked to remain on these committees because even during what seemed like constant gridlock in Washington, Democrats and Republicans on these committees were able to work together to pass a long-term Farm Bill, a multi-year highway bill, and get back to regular order by passing a water infrastructure bill every two years. These are policies that lead to job creation. We have a track record of success and I want to continue that into the 115th Congress.”

Congressman Davis detailed his intention to retain his seat on the Ag Committee to Illinois Corn Growers Association leaders at a meeting in November 2016.

IL Corn extends our appreciation to all three of our returning members to this Committee. We look forward to working with them on agricultural issues facing the 115th Congress.