Tricia Braid

Jan 05, 2018  |  Today's News |  ICGA |  ICMB |  Legislation & Regulation |  Farm Policy

Yesterday, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue announced a slate of Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee Appointees. According to the USDA press release, “State committees are selected by the Secretary, serve at the pleasure of the Secretary, and are responsible for carrying out FSA’s farm programs within delegated authorities.”

“The State Committees will help to ensure USDA is providing our farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural producers with the best customer service,” Secretary Perdue said. “They serve as a liaison between USDA and the producers in each state across the nation by keeping them informed and hearing their appeals and complaints. The committees are made up mostly of active farmers and ranchers, representing their peers and ensuring USDA’s programs are supporting the American harvest.”

Below are the newly-named members of the Illinois State Committee:

  • Committee Chair Jim Reed – DeLand
  • Martin R. Barbre – Carmi
  • Melanie DeSutter – Woodhull
  • Ron Moore - Roseville
  • Troy Uphoff – Findlay

IL Corn congratulates the new committee members, all of which are current or past IL Corn leaders or friends. We look forward to the important and progressive work they will do for Illinois’ farmers and the farming economy. State committees are appointed for a one-year term which began on January 1, 2018. Each state committee has five members, one chairperson and four members.