Tricia Braid

Aug 20, 2019  |  Today's News |  ICMB

Roger Sy, a farmer from Newman, Illinois, was elected by his peers to serve as Chairman of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board (ICMB) for the 2019-20 term.


Sy, a Douglas County farmer, has served on ICMB for six years. As Chairman, Sy will represent ICMB as a whole and will continue his obligations to corn farmers in District 12, covering Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar and Jasper Counties.


Also elected to officer positions were (pictured L-R) Jim Reed (DeLand) as Secretary, Dirk Rice (Philo) as Vice-Chairman, Roger Sy, and Mark Wilson (Toulon) as Treasurer.


Five districts held corn checkoff board elections earlier this summer.


District                        Counties in District                             Candidate and Hometown


3                      Henderson, Henry, Knox, Mercer,             Robert (Rob) Elliott, Cameron

                        Rock Island, and Warren


6                      Champaign, Ford, Iroquois, and               Dirk Rice, Philo



9                      Adams, Brown, Hancock,                          Daniel (Dan) Cole, Plainville

                        McDonough, Pike, and Schuyler           


12                    Clark, Coles, Crawford,                             Roger Sy, Newman

                        Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar,

                        and Jasper


15                    Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin,                    Jeff Scates, Shawneetown

                        Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson,

                        Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope,

                        Pulaski, Randolph, Saline,

                        Union, and Williamson