IL Corn Growers Association Board of Directors Elections Open

May 11, 2023  |  ICGA |  Public Outreach

photos of il corn growers association board


Each year five directors are elected to a three-year term in districts throughout Illinois and two at-large directors are elected for a one-year term to represent farmers all over the state. Members in each district elect their own representation by a mail-in ballot and the at-large directors are elected at the annual meeting, which is usually in November.


Districts up for election this year and the counties included in each district are as follows:  

District Counties                                                                                                                       Current Director 

2             Carroll, Jo Daviess, Ogle, Stephenson and Winnebago                                     Ellen Rahn; elected 11/20 


5             Grundy, Kankakee, LaSalle, Livingston                                                                  Dan Parker; elected 3/23 


8             Cass, Fulton, Logan, Mason, Menard, Peoria and Tazewell                             Mike Shane; elected 11/20 


11           Christian, Effingham, Fayette, Montgomery and Shelby                                   Keith Sanders; elected 11/17 


14           Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe, St. Clair and Washington                            Garrett Hawkins; elected 11/17 


Current at-large directors which represent the entire state are also up for election. Current directors are; Kate Danner, Aledo, IL and Dave Rylander, Victoria, IL. 


Requirements for farmer board elections:

        1) announce your intentions to run virtually at our June or August board meeting (call office for meeting details)

        2) submit a written letter declaring your intent to run to the IL Corn office or,

        3file a petition with 25 signatures of current members in your district (membership list available upon request).


Petitions are due in the state office no later than September 1.  


The board does not pay a per diem but offers a unique experience to make a difference in your own operation, that of friends and neighbors, and to help build a strong industry for future generations. Travel, lodging and meeting expenses are reimbursed.  Board members learn more about the Illinois agricultural industry, develop media relations and PR skills, meet other Illinois leaders and network with elected officials and staff and create solutions to the issues facing corn production within our state.