Lindsay Mitchell

Aug 08, 2018  |  Today's News |  ICMB

Jim Raben named Secretary & Treasurer of the US Grains CouncilJim Raben, farmer from Ridgway, IL and Illinois Corn Marketing Board Director, became Secretary/Treasurer of the U.S. Grains Council last week during its 58th Annual Board of Delegates meeting in Colorado.


Raben’s election by his peers indicates an opportunity to serve as Vice Chair and Chairman of the USGC in future years.


“Promoting trade and global relationships with the U.S. Grains Council has been a tremendous opportunity.  I am honored to now have the privilege to serve and lead the Council during a time when trade promotion is so essential.  It doesn’t get better than this,” Raben said.


Also during the August 1 meeting, Jim Stitzlein, manager of market development for Consolidated Grain and Barge Co., was elected chairman and unveiled his chairman’s theme: “When Trade Works, World Wins.”


The board of directors now includes:


Jim Stitzlein, chairman, Consolidated Grain and Barge Co.

Darren Armstrong, vice-chairman, Corn Growers Association of North Carolina, Inc.

Jim Raben, secretary/treasurer, Illinois Corn Marketing Board

Deb Keller, past chairman, Iowa Corn Promotion Board

Thomas N. Sleight, president and c.e.o.

Duane Aistrope, at-large director, Iowa Corn Promotion Board

Ray Defenbaugh, agribusiness/ethanol and co-products sector director, Big River Resources L.L.C.

Greg Hibner, agribusiness sector director, J.D. Heiskell Hawkeye Gold Office

Charles Ray Huddleston, sorghum sector director, United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Joshua Miller, at-large director, Indiana Corn Marketing Council

Tom Mueller, corn sector director, Illinois Corn Marketing Board

Tadd Nicholson, checkoff sector director, Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association

Mark Seastrand, barley sector director, North Dakota Barley Council

Ryan Wagner, at-large director, South Dakota Corn Utilization Council

Chad Willis, at-large director, Minnesota Corn Research & Promotion Council


The new board of directors will serve until July 2019.