Jan 02, 2019  |  Today's News |  ICGA

With improved seed varieties, advanced production techniques and innovative growing practices, corn growers achieved impressive yields despite weather-related adversity in the National Corn Growers Association 2018 National Corn Yield Contest.


The National Corn Yield Contest is now in its 54th year and remains NCGA’s most popular program for members.


“While participating in friendly competition, yield contest participants create and share information that shapes the future of the industry,” said Roger Zylstra, chair of NCGA’s Stewardship Action Team. “Contest winners, at the state and national levels, find innovative ways to help their fellow farmers excel in a variety of situations. Emphasizing innovation both from growers and technology providers, our contest enables us to meet the growing demand for food, feed, fuel and fiber.”


The 18 winners in six production categories had verified yields averaging more than 349 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 178.9 bushels per acre in 2018. While there is no overall contest winner, yields from first, second and third place farmers overall production categories topped out at 477.6877 bushels per acre.


“The National Corn Yield Contest serves as the first point of contact with NCGA, as entrants join the association,” said Brandon Hunnicutt, chair of NCGA’s Engaging Members Committee. “But, for so many, contest participation is just the first step in a journey. As they discover the breadth of activities NCGA carries out on the behalf of farmers, their involvement and support increases. Much as the data and ideas generated by contestants leads to advances that benefit all farmers, NCGA’s grassroots efforts join the single voices of members together to create positive change and real opportunities for our industry.”


Congratulations to Illinois winners in these categories:


AA Non-Irrigated

1st Jerry Reinhart of Sadorus

2nd Chuck Walsh of Bement

* Chuck Walsh of Bement

3rd Roger Hendrix of Bement



1st Phillip Friedrich of Green Valley

2nd David Luepkes of Oregon

3rd Heather Miller of Tamms


AA No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated

1st Matthew Swanson of La Harpe

2nd Randy Haars of Geneseo

3rd Travis Michl of Newton


No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated

1st Dan Luepkes of Chana

2nd Melissa Yocum of Oregon

3rd Greg McClure of Saint Francisville



For more than half of a century, NCGA’s National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre, helping feed and fuel the world. This has given participants not only the recognition they deserved but the opportunity to learn from their peers.


Winners receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. The winners will be honored during Commodity Classic 2019 in Orlando, Fla.


List of National winners and State winners.

List of all NCYC Entrants.