Nov 24, 2010  |  Today's News |  ICGA

Yesterday was the Illinois Commodity Conference in Bloomington. Illinois Corn Growers Association was pleased to facilitate a visit by Senator Dick Durbin. Cromwell Ag Radio Network broadcaster Jeff Nalley spoke with the Senator briefly. Nalley’s report can be found here.


Monticello corn grower Jim Reed has been elected president of the Illinois Corn Growers Association (ICGA) for 2010-2011. Reed, a Piatt County farmer, was elected at ICGA’s re-organizational meeting Nov. 23, 2010, at the DoubleTree Hotel in Bloomington.


Reed has served on the ICGA board for 7 years, most recently as Vice President. As District 7 Director he represents growers in Mclean, Dewitt, Piatt, Macon and Moultrie Counties.


Joining Reed in leadership roles are Vice President, Jeff Scates of Shawneetown; Treasurer, Dan Cole of Plainville; and Secretary, Gary Hudson of Hindsboro.  Elected to lead the Export Committee were:  Chairman, Eric Kunzeman of Tremont and Vice Chairman, Craig Buhrow of West Brooklyn.  Elected to serve on the Industrial Committee were: Chairman, Paul Taylor of Esmond and Vice Chairman, Andrew Goleman of Divernon.

Re-elected to serve as Directors on the state board are:


District  1 – Paul Taylor of Esmond representing growers in Boone, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry and Will Counties.

District  4 – Craig Buhrow of West Brooklyn representing growers in Bureau, Lee, Marshall, Putnam, Stark and Whiteside Counties.

District  7 – Jim Reed of Monticello representing growers in DeWitt, McLean, Macon, Moultrie, Piatt and Woodford Counties.

District 10 – Andrew Goleman of Divernon representing growers in Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Morgan, Sangamon and Scott Counties.

District 13 – Richard Gates of Carmi representing growers in Clay, Edwards, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marion, Richland, Wabash, Wayne and White Counties.


At-Large Directors elected at the annual meeting are Wayne Anderson, interlocking Director with the Illinois Farm Bureau; Gary Hudson of Hindsboro and Tom Groppel of Jerseyville.


The new board was officially seated following the annual meeting.  The ICGA board - which coordinates and conducts market development, legislative, and public relations programs to benefit corn producers - consists of 15 directors representing specific districts and three at-large directors.