Jan 27, 2011  |  Today's News

Late this afternoon, the National Journal reported that six new Republican senators will take seats on the Senate Appropriations Committee and Illinois’ brand new Senator Kirk is one of them.   Other freshman Senators receiving the nomination are Sens. Ron Johnson, R-Wis., Dan Coats, Ind., Roy Blunt, Mo., Jerry Moran, R-Kan., and James Hoeven, R-N.D., according to an announcement by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell’s office. 

This is good news for Illinois corn farmers.  Though membership surveys indicate that Illinois corn farmers are willing to share in the cuts that are promised during the next two years if cuts are equitable, they are also watching to see if the Federal government is willing to invest in long term projects that protect the competitiveness of Illinois businesses in a global marketplace.

As Rodney Weinzierl, ICGA/ICMB Executive Director stated in his reaction to the State of the Union address on Corn Corps yesterday, “Stepping back and thinking about where our country may have made some mistakes, we haven’t made long term investments into new technologies, new infrastructure, or other programs that will affect the ability of future Americans to remain competitive in a world market.  We have tended to invest in short term projects that offer immediate gratification.  That needs to change.

The Illinois Corn Growers Association looks forward to working with Senator Mark Kirk in this 112th session of Congress.

Bottom line: Illinois Senator Mark Kirk is one of six freshmen Senators to earn a seat on the Senate Appropriations Committee.