Jul 01, 2011  |  Today's News |  ICMB

Elections will be held Wednesday, July 6, 2011 to fill board member seats on the Illinois Corn Marketing Board in five districts across the state. Voting will take place in County Cooperative Extension offices in Districts 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13 during regular business hours.

The districts include the following counties: District 1 – Boone, McHenry, Lake, DeKalb, Kane, Cook, DuPage, Kendall, and Will; District 4 – Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Stark, Marshall, and Putnam; District 7 – Woodford, McLean, Dewitt, Macon, Piatt and Moultrie; District 10 – Scott, Morgan, Sangamon, Greene, Jersey, Calhoun, and Macoupin; and District 13 – Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash and White.

The ICMB administers the funds collected through the voluntary state corn checkoff program.  A 3/8 cent per bushel is collected at the first point of sale and the dollars support research on new uses for corn, market development activities and public education and promotional materials and programming. The goal of these efforts is to develop and maintain strong markets for Illinois corn as productivity increases.

Board members are volunteers who do not receive a per diem or payment. Incumbents are running in uncontested elections for the following districts: James Rapp, Princeton, District 4 and William Christ, Metamora, District 7.  New directors running in uncontested elections are  Glenn Ginder, Peotone, District 1; Bill Long, Franklin, District 10; and Don Duvall, Carmi, District 13. 

Write-in candidates are permitted; however, they must file a “Declaration of Intent” with the Director of Agriculture by 5 p.m., July 1, to be eligible for election.  The declaration of intent form is available by contacting the Illinois Department of Agriculture.  

Anyone who produces and markets corn is eligible to vote.  Ballots may be cast at local Cooperative Extension Service offices during regular operating hours. 

Election results will be announced by August 1.  Winners will receive three-year terms.