Nov 23, 2011  |  Today's News

Shawneetown corn grower Jeff Scates has been elected president of the Illinois Corn Growers Association (ICGA) for 2011-2012. Scates, a Gallatint County farmer, was elected at ICGA’s re-organizational meeting Nov. 22, 2011 at the DoubleTree Hotel in Bloomington.

Scates has served on the ICGA board for 6 years, most recently as Vice President. As District 15 Director he represents growers in Randolph, Perry, Jackson, Union, Alex, Pulaski, Massac, Johnson, Williamson, Franklin, Hamilton, Saline, Pope, White Gallatin and Hardin counties.

Joining Reed in leadership roles are Vice President, Paul Taylor of Esmond; Treasurer, Richard Gates of Carmi; and Secretary, Aron Carlson of Winnebago.  Elected to lead the Export Committee were:  Chairman, Gary Hudson of Hindesboro and Vice Chairman, Dan Cole of Plainville.  Elected to serve on the Industrial Committee were: Chairman, Eric Kunzeman of Tremont and Vice Chairman, Mark Degler of Mattoon.  Elected to serve on the Grassroots Committee were: Chairman, Jim Reed of Monticello and Vice Chairman, Jeff Jarboe of Loda.

Newly elected to serve as Director on the state board is:

District 5 – Justin Durdan of Utica representing growers in Lasalle, Grundy, Livingston and Kankakee counties.

Re-elected to serve as Directors on the state board are:


District  2 – Aron Carlson of Winnebago representing growers in JoDaviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Carroll and Ogle counties.

District  8 – Eric Kunzeman of Tremont representing growers in Fulton, Peoria, Mason, Tazewell, Cass, Menard and Logan counties.

District  14 – Ken Hartman of Waterloo representing growers in Madison, Bond, St. Clair, Monroe, Clinton and Washington counties.


At Large Directors elected at the annual meeting are Wayne Anderson, interlocking Director with the Illinois Farm Bureau; Gary Hudson of Hindsboro and Tom Groppel of Jerseyville.

The new board was officially seated following the annual meeting.  The ICGA board - which coordinates and conducts market development, legislative, and public relations programs to benefit corn producers - consists of 15 directors representing specific districts and three at-large directors.