Tricia Braid

Dec 18, 2015  |  Today's News

The top Illinois entrant in the National Corn Growers Association’s Corn Yield Contest grew 325 bushels per acre this year. James Cecil of Rock Island brings home that honor with his Pioneer P1197AM™ yielding 324.9447 in the AA Non-Irrigated Class. The National Corn Yield Contest is now in its 51st year and remains NCGA’s most popular program for members. Participation in the contest remained strong in 2015, with 7,729 entries received.

In the AA non-irrigated class, Brandon Brooks of Erie came in second place with Pioneer P1257AMXT™ at 318.4713. Taking third place honors were Ralph and Donald Walter of Grand Ridge with their Pioneer P1417AMX™ 307.6597.

Coming in the top three positions in the AA No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated class were Marla Arkels, Aaron Gingerich, and Scott Ziegler yielding 290, 288 and 286 respectively.

In the No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated class, former Illinois Corn Growers Association President Jeff Scates took first at 261.34, Brian Mills at second with 261.32, andMallory Thompson rounded out the top three with 246.38.

On irrigated ground in Illinois, first place winner was Brigitte Young with 316 bu. Phillip Freidrich took second at 300.1. With 299.9bpa, Dan Luepkes was third.

The complete list of state winners is available here.

-- Improved seed varieties, advanced production techniques and innovative growing practices helped corn growers achieve ever-higher yields in the National Corn Growers Association 2015 National Corn Yield Contest. Entrants continued to far surpass the national average corn yield, setting a contest record with a new all-time high yield of just over 532 bushels per acre. Additionally, a record five national entries surpassed the 400-plus bushel per acre mark.

The 18 winners in six production categories had verified yields averaging more than 386.4 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 169.3 bushels per acre in 2015. While there is no overall contest winner, yields from first, second and third place farmers overall production categories topped out at 532.0271.

This record was set by David Hula of Charles City, VA.

For more than half of a century, NCGA’s National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre, helping feed and fuel the world. This has given participants not only the recognition they deserved, but the opportunity to learn from their peers.

Winners receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. In New Orleans, during the 2016 Commodity Classic, winners will be honored during the NCGA Awards Banquet and the NCYC State Winners Breakfast.