Tricia Braid

Apr 21, 2017  |  Today's News |  ICMB

Farmers who would like to run for a three-year term on the Illinois Corn Marketing Board can now start circulating nominating petitions.

Petitions are available at the ICMB office in Bloomington and at the Illinois Department of Agriculture in Springfield. To have their name placed on the ballot, candidates must submit a completed petition to the Director of Agriculture by the filing deadline of May 15, 2017. Petitions should contain the signatures of 200 (or 5 percent, whichever is less) producers residing in the counties in the district in which the board member is to be elected.

Interested corn farmers must be at least 18 years old, have produced and marketed corn, reside in the district to be represented and have submitted a valid petition by the filing deadline to be eligible for election.

Elections will be held July 6, 2017.

The following ICMB districts and their representative counties are open for election:

District                         Counties in District

District 1                      Boone, McHenry, Lake, DeKalb, Kane, Cook, DuPage, Kendall, Will

District 4                      Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Stark, Marshall, Putnam

District 7                      Woodford, McLean, Dewitt, Macon, Piatt, Moultrie

District 10                    Scott, Morgan, Sangamon, Greene, Jersey, Calhoun, Macoupin

District 13                    Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash, White

Those elected will serve a three-year term beginning August 1, 2017.

For more information or to request a petition, call the Illinois Department of Agriculture at (217) 524-9130 or write: Illinois Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Marketing and Promotion, PO Box 19281, State Fairgrounds, Springfield, IL 62792-9281. You may also visit the Department’s website at